That’s a Wrap.

Ba-dum-tiss! Right?

Ahem, lettuce wraps. We’re doing those today.

Josh and I have set ourselves a new adventure goal. It’s super lame, but I guess it’s what people who cook do…? We’re trying to eat our way through the freezer. I know this sounds kind of weird, to begin with, since that’s usually what you do, right? You eventually plan to consume all the things you’ve frozen. I, however, get a little overzealous with it sometimes, especially because we have an apartment sized freezer, meaning there isn’t exactly room for ALL the leftovers.

So last night, I sat down with a notebook and a bucket and diligently pulled out every ziplock bag and plastic container, looked at it for a minute, and decided whether or not a) I knew what it was and b) it was edible. If it wasn’t, it went in the bucket, and if it was, it was documented and put back.

Back to the part about having a plan. So we’ve figured out we can probably eat for the next month without actually purchasing protein. It’s actually going to be kind of fun, but it’s also going to be a gamble. Some of the things in there are questionable but in such large quantities I can’t consciously throw away with out at LEAST giving it a try…

Tonight’s dinner is butternut squash soup – it’s pretty fantastic but no recipes until I’ve tweaked it the way I like. Plus, the original recipe is vegan, and we certainly can’t have that! I made apple butter crustini. Here, look!

IMG_3965

Yeah, it’s amazing. That’s coconut milk on the top. Yeah.

But really, this post is about lettuce wraps. It started with this recipe from Sunny Anderson on the Food Network but I added rice.

I didn’t pay attention to the amounts, since I figured I only had 500g. ground beef, so I kinda just…pretended. Look, pretty!

IMG_3962

Just wanted to show you how pretty they were – totally worth the day-later blog.

Enjoy!

Beef & Rice Lettuce Wraps

  • 500g ground beef
  • half shallot
  • 1/4 c. hoisin sauce
  • 2 tsp. grated ginger
  • 1 tbsp. soy sauce
  • 2 small cloves garlic
  • 1/2 tsp. red pepper flake
  • salt & pepper
  • cooked white rice
  • large leaf lettuce
  • whole wheat wraps (optional – good idea for work lunch!)
  • crispy wonton strips/chow mein noodles
  • chopped peanuts

Brown beef with shallot. Add sauce and cook for a minute, until the sauce is hot. Pile on lettuce, with rice and crunchy bits. Quick, easy, and SO GOOD.

xo.

Leave a Reply

