The Freezer Purge Continues…

Yep – digging out the remnants of things that used to be food from the freezer is actually really enjoyable. I can’t quite believe how many good meals we’ve had in the last few days, just from frozen bags of question mark.

I’ve been spending the last every-spare-moment packing and cleaning, and defrosting random things. Today’s is pumpkin. I know, I know, it’s not fall anymore, but I’ve got to get rid of it, so suck it up.

The other deciding factor is EVERYONE at work with their knickers in a twist that I’m a) leaving Vancouver and b) not baking every weekend anymore. They keep asking, “Do you not like us anymore?” I’ve set myself a dangerous precedent, but I’ve only got a few weeks to keep it up so I think I can probably swing it.

I also like to switch it up a little, since I’ve only done a few baking posts. Don’t get me wrong, I love dinner, but sometimes I need sweets. My depravity knows no bounds.

This pumpkin bread recipe has been slightly modified from a Weight Watchers recipe for muffins, given lovingly by my cousin Jamie, a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away (Calgary, again). I’ve changed it today more so than usual, as the pumpkin from the freezer is slightly under the required amount. We’ll get to that later.

Pumpkin Bread!

IMG_3968

See that cup of pumpkin? It’s just a teeeeensy bit under a cup. Like I said, we’re modifying it from the original Weight Watchers, and to make up the missing pumpkin, we’re using some melted butter (no shame!). The original recipe was lots of pumpkin and a tablespoon of oil. We’re changing that to about a quarter cup melted butter and that amount of pumpkin (I don’t have numbers for this).

IMG_3969

We’re missing our buttermilk, since it’s sitting off to the side becoming, well, buttermilk. If you don’t have store-bought, you can use lemon juice. One teaspoon of lemon juice to a cup of milk. Mix your brown sugar, pumpkin, melted butter, one egg and the buttermilk.

IMG_3971

Mix your dry ingredients separately. You know the spices – cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves. The standard pumpkin pie spice.

IMG_3970

Dump the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and stir ONLY until everything’s combined. You don’t want to overmix.

Be sure to grease your pan. Bake in 350 degree oven for anywhere between 45 minutes to an hour. As you know, I start low and continue baking in roughly 5 minute increments if it’s not quite finished. Use a skewer to poke the middle, to make sure it’s done.

IMG_3974

If it starts to look dark and still isn’t finished, you can cover the whole thing with tin foil and keep baking – that will keep it from getting too crusty on top.

IMG_3975

I like to let my breads (banana, usually, but one time I made mango and it was AMAZING) cool upside down on a rack, since the top will stand up to the rack better than the bottom.

I’ll have to keep you posted on the final word – I’m saving it for studio breakfast on Monday. I’m sure they’ll let everyone know on Facebook!

Enjoy!

Pumpkin Bread

  • 1 1/2 c. flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves
  • 1 c. pumpkin puree
  • 1 tbsp. oil (or melted butter – your call!)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c. buttermilk
  • 1 c. brown sugar

Mix wet ingredients and dry ingredients separately. Stir only until combined. Pour into greased loaf pan and bake at 350 for 45 minutes to one hour. Cool upside down on wire rack.

Leave a Reply

